PMI Philippines Chapter

First Ever PMI Visayas/Mindanao Focus Group Convenes

Date: August 2, 2016

Venue: Quest Hotel, Cebu City


The Visayas/Mindanao (VisMin) regions has been experiencing tremendous growth in the tourism and infrastructure sectors these past years. With that, the need for project managers has also grown.

PMI Philippines Chapter realizes this shift and has set into motion to expand its reach and provide membership value to project management practitioners in this growing region of the Philippines.

Cebu City

With the announcement this past June on the appointment of Jose "Joe" Rey, Jr. as PMI Philippines Chapter, Associate Director for the Visayas and Mindanao regions, it has set its goal for the VisMin region to become a branch of the PMI Philippines Chapter.

"We have an obligation to our members in providing value to their membership and bringing speakers and learning opportunities closer to them is a step in this direction" says Patrick Ferrer, Board of Director Trustee, PMI Philippines Chapter.


The Focus Group attendees consisted of volunteer PMI members from the VisMin region and all shared ideas and suggestions on how best to move forward. The immediate need is the planning for the upcoming Tech Session to be held in October.  "In support of our objectives, it was agreed by all that we need to showcase speakers and provide learning and networking opportunities that will provide the "wow" factor" says Joe Rey. He added "that it will fuel the membership growth that we are aiming for".  In addition to the attendees, Sol Anastacio, Board of Directors Trustee and Chairman of the just completed 2016 PMI Symposium flew in from Manila to join the meeting. 


Focus Group Attendees L to R: Sol Anatascio (PMI Philippines Chapter), Cesar Suarez (Moses & Partners Management Co.), Michael Manlangit (MLCM Construction Project Management), Wenawen Retuerto (Teradyne Inc.), Joe Rey (PMI Philippines Chapter), Carla Barbadillo (Fairchild Semiconductor), DinoFaustino (Huawei Technologies), Michael Alacarde (Teradyne Inc.), Romeo Buendia (Shell Petroleum Corp.), and Archer Marzo (Fairchild Semiconductor).